Saturday, 5 February 2011

Lighthouses, Belgium

I just realised that I haven't posted any postcards from Belgium in this blog yet. ...and it's not THAT rare a country, even if I don't receive postcards from there all the time. Well, this is remedied now with this nice official that arrived a while ago. This might well be my first Belgian lighthouse postcard, actually. :)


These lighthouses are all located in West Flanders, the westernmost province of the Flemish Region, also named Flanders, in Belgium. It borders (clockwise from the North) on the Netherlands, the Flemish province of East Flanders and the Walloon province of Hainaut in Belgium, on France, and the North Sea. Its capital is Bruges (Brugge). Other important cities are Kortrijk in the south and Ostend along the coastline. The province has an area of 3,125 km² which is divided into eight administrative districts containing 64 municipalities.

The stamp is from a set of two Christmas stamps issued in 2010.

No comments: