Saturday, 7 January 2012

Australian Antarctic Territory

An absolutely GORGEOUS, older maxi card I received from a swap last year. This is a real gem, and the huskies are adorable! ^_^

The Australian Antarctic Territory (AAT) is a part of Antarctica. It was claimed by the United Kingdom and placed under the authority of the Commonwealth of Australia in 1933. It is the largest territory of Antarctica claimed by any nation. Since the Antarctic Treaty came into force in 1961, Article 4 of which states "The treaty does not recognize, dispute, nor establish territorial sovereignty claims; no new claims shall be asserted while the treaty is in force", most countries do not recognise territorial claims in Antarctica.

Australia issues postage stamps for the Australian Antarctic Territory. The first issues came in 1957, and sporadically thereafter, settling into a pattern of an annual issue by the 1990s. All have been Antarctic-themed, and all are valid for postage in Australia and its territories, including Antarctica.

1 comment:

dokka srinivasu said...

Dear Friend

I like your blog. Very nice collection and description.

please look into my blog and share your comments.